Projects and Initiatives

Projects and Initiatives

The Student Government is involved with a lot of projects every year. You can find information about it all here. 

List of Projects

Date
Title
Manager
Email
Description
Status
2018I am a Voter CampaignKathryn Walkerkgwalker@iastate.eduCivic Engagement Cultural Shift CampaignOngoing
2018Career Services SeminarsCourtney Beringercbering@iastate.eduIncorporating Diversity and Inclusion in Career ServicesIn Progress
2018ISU ID into Voter IDJacob Schraderjas2@iastate.eduPutting an Expiration Date on ISU ID so it can be used as a Voter IDAbandoned
2019Standing Desks for Parks LibraryRachel Origerrjoriger@iastate.eduPutting Standing Desks in the LibraryCompleted
2018ISU Surplus Student AccessKathryn Paszkiewiczkpaszkie@iastate.eduAllow Student Access to ISU Surplus before publicOn Hold
2018Solidarity Walk for WomxnMaria Alcivarmalcivar@iastate.eduMarch/Walk to support survivors of gender based violenceCompleted
20193-D Printer Access on CampusCourtney Beringercbering@iastate.eduAllow students personal access to 3-D printers on campusAbandoned
2018Phasing Out Plastic Bag UsageCourtney Beringercbering@iastate.eduWork with ISU Dining to phase out plastic bag usageIn Progress
2018Campus Security CamerasKaitlyn Sanchezsanchezk@iastate.eduCameras to reduce vandilism in on-campus parking lotsAbandoned
2018Trademark Policy DiscussionStudent Governmentstugov@iastate.eduAdvocating for Students in regards to Trademark PolicyOngoing
2018"I Am More than" InitiativeJuan Bibilonibibiloni@iastate.eduPartnership with the Iowa State Daily to showcase student leadership. Student leaders discuss their stories and highlight why they are "More Than" a specific stereotype. Ongoing
2018Campus Safety WalksKaitlyn Rolingkroling@iastate.eduPartnership with ISUPD and Facilities Planning and Management in identifying areas on campus in regards to safety that need to be addressed. Ongoing
2018Campus LightingKaitlyn Rolingkroling@iastate.eduUniversity task force for improving campus lighting. Ongoing
2016Recycling in Campus BuildingsExpand ISU Recycling Program to other areas and buildings on campus.Completed
2016Iowa State Green FundCreate an Iowa State Green Fund, used to support sustainability projects on campus.Completed
2016Printing CreditsReagan HuberrahuberLooking towards revamping how the printing system works on campus.Completed
2016Safe Trek Safety AppImplement a Safety App onto the Iowa State campus for when students feel unsafe in certain locales and situations.Completed
2016SAC Online FAQ DatabaseThe Student Answer Center (SAC) is creating a new online "One-Stop Shop" FAQ for students to utiliize. This is to be in conjunction with the current SAC that is located in Beardshear Hall.Completed
2016International Food ExpansionWith the growing diversity of the Iowa State student body, we’re looking to work with ISU Dining in providing more international food options at their campus locations. Not only will it give more students a way to feel at home, but it will also allow students to try new things and to potentially discover a new favorite.Completed